Joomla Template by Create a Website
  • Video lessons on Revelation and the Old Testament
    are now available.
  • View press release of Carlton's newest book -
    God and Men: No Holds Barred.
  • Read about the Life Changing Verses books.
  • View lessons from the Old and New
    Testaments of the Bible.

2/1/17 – The Seven Spirits Before God's Throne

Published: Tuesday, 31 January 2017 Written by Carlton L. Arnold

A shoot will come up from the stump of Jesse; from his roots a Branch will bear fruit. The Spirit of the Lord will rest on him—
    the Spirit of wisdom and of understanding,
    the Spirit of counsel and of might,
    the Spirit of the knowledge and fear of the Lord
    and he will delight in the fear of the Lord.
  Isaiah 11:1-2

John, To the seven churches in the province of Asia: Grace and peace to you from him who is, and who was, and who is to come, and from the seven spirits before his throne.  Revelation 1:4

 In the book of Revelation, John receives a message and many visions from the Lord Jesus Christ concerning End Times.  It is addressed to seven churches centrally located in Asia Minor. There are numerous topics of discussion and debate about the symbolism in Revelation.  This is a discussion on “ the seven spirits” before the throne of God mentioned in the verse from Revelation 1:4.  They are mentioned several times in Revelation.  There are two ways to describe the seven spirits, and both may be correct.

The first way of looking at the “seven spirits” comes from Isaiah 11:1-2 (see verses above.)  Isaiah identifies the seven spirits as follows: the Spirit of (1) the Lord; (2) wisdom; (3) understanding; (4) counsel; (5) might; (6) knowledge; and, (7) fear or reverence of the Lord. 

Isaiah 11:1 is a famous prophecy about the coming of Christ.  The support for this verse comes from the book of Ruth where you will find that Jesse is the father of David, who will eventually become king of Israel.  God makes a promise to King David that there is a future king who will come from the family line of David who will be the Messiah (2 Samuel 7:16).  Therefore, Isaiah is describing the seven spirits that are the attributes of Jesus Christ.  At all times when Jesus was on this earth, He said that He did only what God told Him to do.  If you meditate on each of the attributes, you can conclude how Jesus could have accomplished this.  By always doing God’s will, Jesus lived a sinless life.  He became an unblemished lamb to die on the cross for our sins

The second way to consider the seven spirits is to realize that when a person becomes a Christian, God gives that person the Holy Spirit to help guide and mature the Christian.  Rather than having only our intellect and/or our feelings to dictate our attitudes and behavior, Believers now have the Holy Spirit alive inside them to give direction to their life just like Jesus.  When Believers only use their mind or their feelings to make decisions, they are in a selfish mode and will decide what is best for them.  When Believers ignore their mind and feelings and rely on the Holy Spirit, they are now doing the will of God.  Therefore, the seven spirits are attributes of the Holy Spirit that Believers now have to help them live a Godly life.  No Believer will always stay in God’s will.  However, if you meditate on these attributes, you will grow closer to God and will come to know Him in a way that you never thought possible.


Hits: 399